International buyer, Is this a scam?

Zimzar
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I have never used PayPal to receive a payment for a item I am selling on Kijiji so I am new to this. The buyer supposbly has sent an additional $550 for shipping cost and $100 for extra fees and says for me to send the $550 to a shipping outlet via Western Union. Also according to my email I have received, this deposit has a temporary hold until I confirm shipping. But that means I would have to front the extra cash first. This looks like a scam to me.

Additional information is that they want to have my item sent to I believe to spain. With the transport company "Freight Forward". Also I had sent a payment request throught the PayPal website and it still has a pending status and I can see no actual status change. Is it safe to assume that this is a scam?

If so should/can I report this to PayPal?

Login to Me Too
14 REPLIES 14

YamahaPiano
Contributor
Contributor

It is a SCAM!  

Paypal DOES NOT ask you to make payment to a third party!   I regretfully fell for the Western Union Shipping fee line because the scammers used the same email address as PayPal and the letterhead was identical - even down to the trademark.   I got suspicious when they asked me to pay an insurance premium of $1600!    The can come up with a million valid reasons....and they are pushy.

My mistake was to have taken action while the invoice I sent was still showing "pending".    A very expensive lesson learned.

Login to Me Too

ranson106202
Contributor
Contributor

i got a same Situation here!how do i do to get the items back from oversea!?

Login to Me Too

bgillespie
New Community Member