Old Password suddenly stopped working

Europe2013
Contributor
Contributor

Dear Paypal,

I tried logging in today to make a small payment to a software company (and yes, the link provided by the company is secure and trustworthy) and suddenly my old login password no longer worked.

I then had  to reset the password to get into my account.

Now the thing is: I work in IT, I have all my passwords stored in an encrypted file and even keep a small old fashioned notepad (which never leaves home - and I live alone) where I have them written down - so I'm 100% sure that the password (and of course the email adress) was correct, because I compared it several times and even copy&pasted it, just in case my keyboard was defective. I also used my Paypal account several times in the last weeks without any problems. And my PW was certainly not phished since I have to deal with exactly such security issues on an almost  daily basis in my job, I know what a phishing mail looks like.

The new password works and I have access again. But I need to know why this happened and if the security on my account has been compromised. So my questions are:

1. Were there any login attempts from foreign IP adresses (for example any IP ranges outside of Europe) in the last 2 weeks ? How many login attempts happened since Nov 2nd ?

2. Were there any attempts to reset or answer my security questions ?

3. Can you provide me with an access log for my account and when my password was changed the last time ? (there should be no changes between 11/2011 and today).

I need to know if this was a database error by Paypal (maybe due to maintenance) or if I need to take apart my home network and look for leaks. I the meantime I have removed my credit card from the account.

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

snowshoe
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor