eBay will not allow me to pay with PayPal. "Sorry, this payment option isn't available."

faboo
New Community Member

Hi all.  hopefully someone can help me with this ongoing issue.  I have been dealing with it for many months now without resolution.  

On the "Checkout" page on eBay, whenever I try to log into PayPal, I get the following error:

Sorry, this payment option isn’t available. Here are your options:

• Select a different payment option.
  • Contact PayPal customer service to resolve this issue.

Because it does not let me log into PayPal, I cannot use any promotional codes, nor can I use any of the eBay gift cards already tied to this account.  I have spoken to eBay already and they have not been able to figure out what is going on with my account. 

I have been using eBay and PayPal for many years now and had never had any issues until this issue popped up a few months ago.

eBay has confirmed that my eBay account is in good standing without any issues that should hinder my use.  PayPal has also confirmed that my account is also in good standing.  

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

-Mike

Login to Me Too
18 REPLIES 18

LookMaNoHands
New Community Member

This means you have to call paypal and verify your identity with them.

And when you do it doesn't mean it will work. You might of owed some money or did some shady stuff on another account before so thats why you get this message.

Login to Me Too

WhereRInvoices
Contributor
Contributor

Same here...  Sorry, this payment option isn't available.
Been using same account and payment methods for years.

Login to Me Too

number1510
Contributor
Contributor

I tried linking and unlinking the account, different browsers and devices, called my credit card company to confirm everything is good, and both ebay and paypal help desks.