"Pending Authorization", yet the money was taken from my PayPal balance???

lrhaberman
Contributor
Contributor

So I just completed, or thought I completed a rather large order on Forever 21's website. First the site kept telling my my addresses were invalid so I tediously typed them into my account again. Shut down Chrome in case that was the issue and try again. Finally get it to confirm the address but now I have a Pending Authorization. The email I recieved said the money wouldn't be taken out until the company confirmed my payment which in itself was frustrating because I am new to this and honest to god am not a fan of all PayPal's policies. But whatever, that's what I get for not reading the fine print. All I want to know is what's going on. My money is gone but I still have the payment pending in my History and my cart on Forever 21 is still full like nothing happened. 

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@lrhaberman

normally when you pay a seller it is never instant > paypal CREDIT the seller and then paypal take the wait for the funds to transfer from your funding source to paypal to reimburse them.

so paypal CREDITED your seller the funds and they are pending waiting for them to capture those pending funds, which some companies do not do until they have processed your order (in case they are out of stock etc).

however your funds are probably still in transit to paypal to reimburse them of those credited funds.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
9 REPLIES 9

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@lrhaberman

Its not a payment policy  >>

When you pay some companies (rather than an ebay seller or individual), then it is always pending until that company processes your order and captures the pending payment.