Hold

LilyMae12
New Community Member

I have been using PayPal regularly for 10 years for payments from clients. I am a freelance writer. I have never had an issue with holds on my account, and out of nowhere, I have a hold on a payment that a regular client made yesterday. Despite contacting PayPal several times, I have not been given any specific details as to why my payment has been placed on hold. I am simply told that they believe it might be a "high risk" item. To my knowledge, those high risk items are tickets, gift cards, etc; not writing services. I am beyond frustrated. Nobody is answering my questions, and I keep getting the run-around. I was expecting to receive that payment so that I could pay my bills. I am a loyal PayPal user, nothing has changed with my account activity, and there is nothing suspicious (or so I am told). How can a multi-billion dollar company withhold a payment for a loyal user without giving a solid reason as to why they are holding it? Has anyone else had this issue? Is there any way to remove the hold faster? I cannot ship the item, because it's a digital service, so therefore, there is no tracking number. Moreover, the service has already been received! It's for writing services that I provide!

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

DPCreations
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

Click on Legal at the bottom of the page and then select Use Agreement.  Scroll down to the section on holds; all reasons are explained there.

Without know the details of your recent past transactions there is no way to suggest a specific reason.

PayPal will not disclose specific reasons, either; this is to prevent anyone trying to circumvent holds policies.

Login to Me Too

Whac-A-Mole
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

'high risk' - service provided has no tracking to prove delivery and prone to dispute of item not received.

if this is a regular client in US,consider using internet banking instead of PAYPAL and you dont pay any fee 

Login to Me Too